More

    How to watch Tour de France: Live stream the race free from anywhere

    When you buy through our links, Business Insider may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

    Tour de France’s 200.7km stage from Libourne to Limoges, France

    David Ramos/Getty Images

    The Tour de France, the most iconic cycling race in the world, is back for its 111th race. We’ve put together everything you need to know about how to watch the Tour de France, including free live streaming options. 

    Contrary to its name, the race will kick off this year in Florence and coast around Italy for a few stages before heading into France for the majority of the contest. The competition is spread across 23 days, with 21 different race stages and two Mondays for rest. The race will conclude on July 21 in Nice, France. The winner is determined as the cyclist with the shortest combined times across the entirety of the race.

    Danish cyclist Jonas Vingegaard won the 2022 and 2023 races and will return to defend his title following a massive crash in April that left him hospitalized for several days. Slovenian cyclist Tadej Pogacar, who won the 2020 and 2021 Tour de France, is Vingegaard’s main competition heading into the race this year. In May, Pogacar won the Giro d’Italia, the first of the annual Grand Tour races, by a shocking, almost 10-minute margin.

    Keep reading to learn all of the ways you can live stream the Tour de France, no matter where you are in the world. Plus, we’ll keep updating this page with daily start times for each leg of the race.

    See also: Where to watch US Olympic Gymnastics Trials | Where to watch Formula 1 | Where to watch MotoGP

    How to watch Tour de France: quick links

    Access free streams from anywhere via ExpressVPN (30-day money-back guarantee)UK: ITVX (FREE)France: France.TV (FREE)Australia: SBS (FREE)US: Peacock ($5.99 per month)When: June 29 – July 21, 2024Upcoming stages:Stage 1 on Saturday at 6 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. BST / 6 p.m. AWSTStage 2 on Sunday at 6:15 a.m. ET / 11:15 a.m. BST / 6:15 p.m. AWSTStage 3 on Monday at 5:15 a.m. ET / 10:15 a.m. BST / 5:15 p.m. AWST

    How to watch Tour de France in the UK

    The Tour de France will air daily on ITV4 in the UK, which means that it’s available to live stream for free through ITVX. This English-language option only requires account creation to use and is a popular international option for VPN users around the world.

    How to watch Tour de France in France

    In France, the Tour de France will live stream on France.TV. This is a free French-language option that you just need to make an account to use.

    How to watch Tour de France in Australia

    The Tour de France live streams are free on SBS in Australia. This is another English-language streaming option that only requires you to create a free account to watch. 

    How to watch Tour de France in the US

    All stages of the Tour de France will live stream on Peacock in the US. Occasionally, the race will be simulcast on NBC, including stages 8, 14, and 20. Peacock subscriptions start at $5.99 a month and will also cover you for the Olympics, which begin later in July.

    How to watch Tour de France from anywhere

    You can still access the free streams via VPN if you aren’t in the UK, France, Australia, or any of the options outlined above during the race. Short for virtual private networks, VPNs allow people to temporarily change their device’s virtual location so that they can access their usual websites from anywhere. VPNs are especially popular among people looking to boost their online privacy and keep up with all their apps while abroad.

    Our go-to recommendation is ExpressVPN since it’s beginner-friendly and comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Check out our ExpressVPN review for additional details, and keep reading to learn how to use a VPN.

    How to watch Tour de France with a VPN

    Sign up for a VPN if you don’t already have one.Install it on the device you’re using to watch the race.Turn it on and set it to the location of the streaming service.Go to ITVX (UK), France.TV (France) or SBS (Australia) and create a login if necessary.Enjoy the Tour de France.

    Note: The use of VPNs is illegal in certain countries, and using VPNs to access region-locked streaming content might constitute a breach of the terms of use for certain services. Insider does not endorse or condone the illegal use of VPNs.

    Read the original article on Business Insider

    Related

    Latest posts

    Categories